top of page
skelsea2015

Caleb's Blog post #3 - Don't Lose Heart

It’s really easy to ‘lose heart’ when the end goal seems so far away. This has been a long journey thus far and it seems like the end is not in sight. Class after class, video after video, we seem to making progress but it just keeps going. I’m excited to announce that we have finally finished the first part of our classes! Now we are focusing on our profiles and working toward completing our psych exams. We did hit a small snag in our psych exams ( as it takes a little over a month to have a scheduled appointment). Our psychologist was sick this week meaning our first appointment is not until October. We are not certain how many appointments we will need to finish this but it must be completed by December 24. So we are asking for prayer that this continues to be completed in a timely matter as we cannot finish our home study until this is completed.


Now back to “Don’t lose heart”. I’m the type of person that has to know the solution to the problem and a scheduler. That might be from my managerial experience of 10+ years. I like to know the solution before the next problem arises. Just like our journey thus far it has been hard and easy just depends on where we were. A big weight has been lifted this weekend as we had our first fundraiser and we have been so blessed with our community, friends, and family. I have been continually crunching numbers and trying to figure out where the next set of funds is going to come from as we need roughly $7,000 before Christmas. It’s easy to see that number and throw in the towel, and to be honest, at times I have wondered the same thing, but then Im reminded that the end goal is worth all this time and money that is required to bring our family home. Sometimes it’s hard, but if it was easy it wouldn’t be a journey.


Our first fundraiser was a garage sale. Growing up I think my family had one garage sale in my 33 years of being alive and probably have been to a couple. When Sarah said our first fundraiser was a garage sale I was like OK I don’t know how well that will work. Our neighbors and community started giving items for our sale and even our local thrift store started giving to us. Soon our garage was full. My wife and her mom went through all of the donations and set up for the garage sale. I continued to have doubt that this will provide much. Boy was I WRONG! This garage sale provided us with $3,500 and I’m still in awe of how much our community is behind us. Its just a reminder to Don’t lose heart!


Hope you continue to have heart and have a blessed week!


Caleb E. Elsea


114 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page